Hon.Nkaduda Michael Justin was elected and sworn in as the speaker to the Assembly on the sixth day of September 2017.

Hon Nkaduda gannered 14 votes against his close competitor mr. Mohamed Dube the former Ag Clerk to the Assembly and asspirant of the position of Member of Parliament representing Bura constituency who gannered eight votes in the first round. In the second round Hon Nkaduda won by a margin of seven votes.

Hon Nkaduda will serve as the speaker of the County Assembly of Tana River for the second assembly.